Steven J White MD

972-525-8800

Become A Patient

Reviews for Tummy Tuck Procedures Near Dallas, TX

Double board-certified Dallas, TX plastic surgeon, Dr. Steven J. White MD, is dedicated to providing patients with an unforgettable plastic surgery experience. Consistently listed as a “Top Doc” and touted among the best plastic surgeons in the Dallas area, Dr. White believes there are no shortcuts to experience, training and knowledge. His patients, who travel far and wide to have plastic surgery under his hands, agree. We are happy to share their experiences and patient stories with you here so that you can gain additional insight and get to know Dr. White a little better. We hope you find these patient testimonials helpful as you make this very important decision.

Filter9 Reviews  
5.0
Review from E.C.  |  Source: Insiderpages  |  Oct 21, 2013

Dr. Steven White is one of the best plastic surgeons. My decision in electing Dr. White to perform my abdominoplasty, (tummy tuck), was not without due diligence. Having several friends who are either surgeons or anesthesiologists, they witnessed first-hand in the operating room, the work of most Plastic Surgeons in the DFW area. In asking them who they would entrust their family member with in performing the procedure, Dr. Steven White was highly recommended. Inquiring into the details as why they recommend Dr. White, each gave me specifics that nurses or general practitioners outside the operating room would not see. From the way Dr. White prepped the patient; to how he make the incision; to the time he spends on each patient in achieving the optimal results; to the techniques he employs to sculpture the body; to methods he uses in closing to minimize the scars, (especially the ends of the incisions); to the dedication of the patients well bring; and in handpicked the best operating team: Dr. White was unsurpassed. In fact, I was told of instances where some surgeons rely on others to close for them or those who rush through procedures to work more patients in. I was even told to avoid using a nurse anesthetist in order to save money because you never know when a complication may arise and even the surgeon must yield to an Anesthesiologist to revive a patient. I would never want to risk my health or my familys to save a few dollars. Now having gone through my abdominoplasty with Dr. White, I can honestly say he was amazing. Not only is he skillful in achieving the most beautiful form for a patient but was there for them emotionally as well. It was priceless how he put my mind at ease by basically taking my hand and guiding me through the entire procedure. In comparing my experience and results with others who had undergone the same procedure, the differences are apparent. Unlike Dr. White not all Plastic Surgeons established a baseline of blood works prior to compare pre and post-surgery. Not all will administer blood thinners to prevent blood clots that may result in an embolism. Using the best Anesthesiologist, I awoke calmly and was coherent without a headache or being nauseous, (I heard of cases where the patient jerks awake or thrashes around as they awake). Dr. White uses multiple drains to ensure proper draining from all sides and to provide back-up should one fail, (others usually used only one). All the extra care he takes to not only prevent infections but minimize the scars width and height. He personally visited the patients at least twice a day and on weekends to walk the patient around the floor when other doctors would have relied on the nurses. I made significantly more follow up visits to his office to monitor my progress. Dr. White has his own garment and techniques to ensure proper shaping and compression, which I came to rely on in my recovery. All this was not only to ensure I had the best sculptured look possible but minimize any risk to my well-being. Dr. White even made a series of videos so that your patients know what to expect after arriving at the hospital. This not only helped put me more at ease but guided me in my recovery. As for the results, it was not even close. My scar was about the width of a papers edge. In comparing with others it was significantly smaller and usually less than one third the size of others. The photos Dr. White took of me were untouched. His results are that good. After only a few weeks, my sides are beginning to have that sculptured look. Even my a valley is beginning to form on my abdomen like a six pack without any exercise on my part, (it is still too early for me). I do not have any dog ears on my scars and my new belly button is perfectly round and cute. By tightening my muscles, I am eating less and it has help lower my blood pressure. The skin on my tummy is very smooth and yes you could bounce a quarter on it. The horizontal scar is well below bikini line. (Worst one I saw was a lady with a huge vertical scar). The old saying, you get what you paid for is especially true for plastic surgery. Trying to save a few dollars when it comes to your health or appearance is simply not worth the risks. After taking all this into account, I know Dr. Steve White is the best. It is not every day that a Plastic Surgeon of his caliber takes on just any client. For this I am both honored and thankful you took me as a patient Oh did I mention his great staff. Not only were they friendly but genuinely helpful toward the patient. Great Surgeon, Great Team, and Great Job!!! More

5.0
Review from M.B.  |  Source: Insiderpages  |  Aug 28, 2013

I had been looking into getting a tummy tuck almost immediately after my second son was born. After countless hours looking at photos online, I just couldnt bring myself to trading a little bit of skin for the high, rigid scars that were starring back at me. Fast forward 10 years enter Dr. White. I was not a big person and still wore form-fitting clothes and bikinis; I had become a master at hiding my trouble spots: compression suits, pulling panties up a little higher to cover that little pooch, wore clothes with a little more rouching in the midsection, etc. While I felt good IN clothes, I longed to feel even better OUT of clothes! I have found that when youre not completely comfortable in your own skin, your personal and intimate life may be neglected. The decision to have a tummy tuck by Dr. White was easy, especially since he had already performed mine and my sisters breast augmentation. I was astounded at how low and symmetrical the tummy tuck scars were. I had seen other tummy results by him and was blown away by the contouring in the belly. Once I made up my mind to have the procedure I was ecstatic! I wasnt nervous about the recovery or pain, just concerned that I might have nausea after the anesthesia. The morning of surgery I was met with smiling faces at the hospital from the nursing staff stating how great Dr. White was. Surprisingly enough, the pre-op education that I was given was extremely thorough so I wasnt nervous at all; in fact, I, and my husband, felt well-prepared going in for the procedure. I was also very impressed that I had the opportunity to not only visit at length with Dr. White beforehand, but also with the anesthesiologist (a doctor, not a nurse), the operating room nurse as well as other staff that I may come in contact with during my surgery. To see their faces before I was put under was a relief in itself. Awaking with blurry eyes, I remember wondering if they had to stop my surgery because I literally felt NO PAIN, but more importantly there was NO NAUSEA!! As a blue, blurry mass approached, I quickly acknowledged that it was Dr. White. He announced that the surgery went great & that he was able to get above my belly button and remove a hideous tattoo I had branded upon my skin years earlier. YES!! I spent 2 grateful nights in the hospital and was discharged on a Thursday evening. I was anxious about returning home to my children and routine. Upon arriving home, the first thing I did was wash my hair over the kitchen sink! I spent the next day at home alone, bored to tears, wandering the house. By Saturday, I was itching to get out and into the world of the living! Pain wasnt even an issue! I took Tylenol for a few days following surgery (I was off pain pills completely by the time I was discharged). My biggest complaint was that I was bored! I got caught up on ancestry.com- thats another story! By day 7 I was back at work! Sure I was slower than usual, but I felt fine. For me, the second week was a little more emotionally difficult than the first week. By this time, my kids and husband were ready to continue their routines and while I was feeling a ton better, my body kept reminding me that I just had surgery! I think most of it was that I felt guilty for going through the surgery, thus leaving my family to fend for themselves looking back, they were completely fine and stated they enjoyed ordering out every night! Thats a moms guilt for ya! We are always putting others before ourselves. It has now approaching 2 years since my tummy tuck and I couldnt be more thrilled! It has taken me a long time to write a review because Ive been out enjoying my new confidence at the lake and other activities with my family activities that I would have otherwise avoided. There is not a day that goes by that I dont stop and admire my new stomach. I finally have my curves back! I have women ask me how much I work out and I smile and relay to them that I dont its Dr. White! People are always curious what the scar looks like; I gleefully show them the almost nonexistent scar that hides beneath my low-rise bikini bottoms! My husband is equally as proud to tell the tale of the tummy tuck as I am! Looking back, Im so thankful that I chose Dr. White. His poise and dedication to each patient is evident upon first contact at the consultation and continues throughout the recovery. If you are looking for a cheap surgery this isnt the place, but remember, you get what you pay for! I would gladly pay double for the results I see in the mirror every day! More

5.0
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Insiderpages  |  Jul 22, 2013

I never thought I would be a person who would go for a plastic surgery. I am surrounded by doctors between family and friends, includes my own father. These people are all for good health and doing it the right way eat well and exercise. I myself am all about natural way of doing things and do not mess with nature kind of person. I followed that principle and had a trainer for 3 years trying to loose all the belly fat. It did not seem like I was getting close to my goals any time in this life. There was a point I just had this bucket list wish to see my self slim and fit into nice cloths. This triggered for me to peruse to get tummy tuck and lipo. Finding the right doctor was very important to me. I hear stories from some close doctor friends on some doctors and the techniques or methods they use for diagnosis and treatments. I was fortunate to have my husband being Dr White's patient prior to me and had successful results. There was no doubt in my mind to go with Dr. White for what I needed. Some of the techniques he uses in surgery are very innovative that will lead to minimum bleeding and scaring, with good results for the purpose itself. One concern my doctor friends had was the duration of anesthesia. Dr. White chooses the best anesthetist to work on his patients. Me and my husband can stand by this statement. It has been 5 months since I had my surgery and my recovery is excellent so far. The personal care I was given at the hospital by Dr White was amazing. I do not understand where he gets this energy that he would come to make his rounds and walk with me to see how I was doing. After surgery he is particular you get up and walk around, and I had few walks with Dr. White himself. I was under anesthesia for about 10 hours. I had low oxygen levels in my lungs after surgery, so he had to ordered a CT scan for lungs. The point here is he is very particular on how to handle the patient after surgery. So instead of just putting the order, he made sure he was present in the radiology room with me as I was moved onto the scanning table. That was the time I had further confirmation, he is just not a plastic surgeon but a surgeon who is very detail oriented and precise from before to after surgery. Even the nurses and caregivers care for you in a specific way if you are Dr. White's patient. For best results follow all the little things Dr. White and his staff tell you, it does make a difference in the results. I like the position of the scars from tummy tuck and the way they have healed so far. As for the lipo the results look great the skin looks smooth and uniform. All this is truly the result of the long hours Dr. White take to do the procedure in very precise way with innovative techniques. If my daughter becomes a doctor I would like to get her trained by a doctor like Dr. White. I continue to eat healthy and exercise. I am more than before encouraged to lead a healthy life style and conscious about taking care of my health and soul. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from L.F.  |  Source: Insiderpages  |  Nov 11, 2012

Lynn Foster - The obstacle that made me reluctant to have surgery was monetary, Since having the surgery, i'm wondering why I didn't have this done 10 years ago! I had seen advertisements in both D Magazine and Texas Monthly rating him #1 in the nation and in Dallas. I had a tummy tuck or an abdominoploasty Complex Ext. The one thing I liked most about my surgery is that there are no puckers or "dog ears" in the final result. Other benefits of my surgery include an increase in self-esteem, I don't have to shop in the plus size department anymore and I am the new me, thanks to Dr White. I would recomend Dr. White and this procedure because he is so meticulous, and caring about you and the outcome of your surgery.Dr. White is the first surgeon that I've ever had that personally was involved with my care in the hospital, as well as, my aftercare. He is an artist at best. He is my "rock star"!!3 More

5.0
Review from J.E.  |  Source: Insiderpages  |  May 09, 2014

Dr. White is AMAZING! I have wanted breast augmentation for 20 years and have always "chickened out" when it came down to actually doing it. My sister in law went to Dr. White 5 years ago to have the procedure done and had nothing but great things to say about him. I scheduled my consultation and knew right away I was going through with it finally. His staff makes you feel so comfortable and they answered every question I had before I even asked! He is very professional yet it feels like I've known him forever. I had my surgery done 6 weeks ago and am very pleased with my results. The little things I was scared of turned out to be nothing at all. The pain wasn't bad, I had it done on a Friday and was back at work Monday. I am considering getting a tummy tuck next and will definitely be using Dr. White. He didn't make me feel like I was just a number, he is genuinely sincere and cares about his work. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Insiderpages  |  Sep 07, 2011

Tremendous results! - I underwent an extended abdominoplasty nearly 3 months ago with Dr. White. After researching the internet, visiting another doctor, and interviewing friends with similar procedures I was nervous about chosing the right surgeon. Dr. White's approach to patient care EXCEEDS all expectations. His emphasis on patient education and problem prevention demonstrate his committment to excellent results. I have been so pleased with the results of my procedure!! The cosmetic and physical improvements have been tremendous. Who knew I could ever get my body back...and it be even better than it was before my 4 children! As someone who works in health care, I am proud to find someone so passionate and dedicated to their work. I highly recommend Dr. White! More

5.0
Review from L.A.  |  Source: Insiderpages  |  Jul 22, 2011

Wish I could wrap up all my feelings and experiences with a just a few paragraphs, but since I can??t I will do the best I can. My surgery was an Adonminalplasty and Breast lift. It was one of the most extraordinary experiences of my life. Being a long awaited and a scary journey, Dr. White quickly eased my mind. A friend had recommended him. She basically had the same surgery and is very happy (even after three years) and could not say enough good things about her experiences with Dr. White and staff. After doing some research, I did not feel confident going with a doctor who I knew nothing about. Dr. White went way beyond making me feel like I was of the upmost priority and really cares about me and how I am feeling. I never felt at any point that I was just a patient or a number. That kind of care is reflected all throughout his staff, and can only be possible because of Dr. White??s integrity and pursuit of excellence in his practice. Sitting here (4 months post-op) very happy and content with my body, I am very fortunate to have found Dr. White. Having waited over 20 years to have this done, it is difficult to put in words how I feel. I??m just relieved and happy now that Dr. White fixed my stomach. He exceeded my expectations. Since I knew this surgery would be long and the recovery not easy, it was important for me to have a doctor that I could trust completely through it all. That trust was never compromised at any time. He and staff prepared us for what was going to happen at every step of the process. Never felt confused or afraid to ask questions or rushed in any way, I was comfortable at every one of my visits. Thank you Dr. White and staff, it is a privilege to be your patient. More

5.0
Review from A.N.  |  Source: Insiderpages  |  Jun 20, 2011

I have been wishing for a tummy tuck (abdominoplasty) for 5 years. I had 3 pregnancies within 4 years and had gained and lost over 100 lbs. I got down to my goal weight but I simply could not repair the baby damage. My stomach was, to me, unsightly and did not seem proportionate to the rest of my body. After interviewing several doctors, searching the internet, and speaking with friends who had already experienced the procedure I chose Dr. Steven J White. I feel so blessed to have found him and the results are absolutely amazing. I look better than I have in 25 years. My body "matches" and is proportionate!!! Dr. White is a perfectionist and it shows. He is kind, compassionate, confident, and enjoys teaching patients about the procedures he performs. Not every surgeon performs the same surgery although they may call it the same name. The time and care Dr. White and his staff take with you is above and beyond what I could have expected. I cannot thank him enough. His staff is also exceptional and I have nothing but praise for all of them. I show my before and after pictures to friends and family and they are absolutely speechless! It was also much less painful than I had expected. I was off of pain medications within 24 hours (except for Tylenol). I urge you to look at Dr. White's website. You will be blown away by the before and after pictures. Then, you simply must go and meet him. You will be so thankful that you did. :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.R.  |  Source: Insiderpages  |  Apr 06, 2013

Amazing Tummy Tuck - I wanted a tummy tuck for 12 years. I went to several different plastic surgeons. I actually saw an ad for Dr. White in American Way magazine on a flight and was really impressed. I set up a consultation with him. My husband and I met with Dr. White and discussed the surgery. He is extremely detailed and explained every aspect of the surgery to us. We felt like he was enabling us to make the most informed decision! He performed my tummy tuck 16 weeks ago. My results are nothing short of amazing! The amount of after care he gives his patients is unmatched. He even came to the hospital the morning after surgery, because he wants to be the one to teach you how to get out of bed correctly. He promised me the recovery would get better at the 24 hour mark and it did :) My incision is so low... it can be covered by a string bikini. The best part is I can now proudly wear a bikini if I want. I look awesome in clothes, and I feel like my body looks like it should given all of my working out and running. I completed a half marathon 10 weeks post surgery and another at 14 weeks. So even though the recovery is long, you are able to resume your sports and activities fairly soon. Dr. White is amazing, and I highly recommend him. I will be trusting him with any further surgeries I decide to have. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.